Wuesthoff & Wuesthoff
Dipl.-Ing., LL.M.

Bernhard Thum

Dipl.-Ing., LL.M.
Patent Attorney, European Patent Attorney

e-mail to Bernhard Thum business card

Bernhard Thum studied mechanical engineering at the University of Stuttgart, gaining his diploma in 1996. In addition to the classical disciplines of mechanical engineering, he focused on biomedical engineering and applied informatics. He was subsequently employed in the R&D department of the Siemens Medical group, where he was an inventor of a plurality of patent applications.

Prior to joining WUESTHOFF & WUESTHOFF he was engaged as a trainee and later - following his admission as a German Patent Attorney and a European Patent Attorney - as a freelance patent attorney at a renowned IP law firm in Munich. Thereafter he was employed for a duration of three years in the Intellectual Property Department of Siemens AG in Germany and in the US. During his tenure at Siemens AG, he managed the patent portfolio of a development site prior to progressing to their licensing department, where he was responsible for multiple national and international licensing and infringement cases. As the head of the department, "Patents and Standards", he contributed to the coordination of world-wide standardization activities with respect to IPR questions.

Mr. Thum has delivered lectures at several international congresses in Europe and Asia. He currently focuses mainly on drafting and prosecuting patent applications as well as invalidating patents primarily in the fields of mechanical and biomedical engineering, information and telecommunication systems. His activities also include patent litigation cases.


Our team

The profiles of our attorneys and experts shown here are designed to give you a first impression of their professional background and experience. We would be happy to provide more detailed information upon request.

Wuesthoff & Wuesthoff
Dipl.-Ing., LL.M.

Bernhard Thum

Dipl.-Ing., LL.M.
Patentanwalt, European Patent Attorney

E-Mail an Bernhard Thum Visitenkarte

Bernhard Thum studierte Maschinenbau an der Universität Stuttgart und erhielt sein Diplom im Jahr 1996. Zusätzlich zu den klassischen Fächern des Maschinenbaus konzentrierte er sich auf die Themengebiete Biomedizinische Technik und Angewandte Informatik. Parallel zu seinem Studium war er in der Grundlagenentwicklung der Siemens AG - Bereich Medizintechnik - tätig, wo er auch als Erfinder bei mehreren Patentanmeldungen in Erscheinung trat.

Bevor er in die Kanzlei WUESTHOFF & WUESTHOFF eintrat, war er zunächst Kandidat und später - nach seiner Zulassung als deutscher Patentanwalt und European Patent Attorney - freier Mitarbeiter in einer traditionsreichen Münchner Patentanwaltskanzlei. Im Anschluss daran war er für etwa drei Jahre in der Patentabteilung der Siemens AG in Deutschland und in den USA beschäftigt. Während seiner Tätigkeit für die Siemens AG trug er zunächst Verantwortung für das Patentportfolio eines Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstandorts im Bereich Mobilfunk. Im Anschluss daran trat Herr Thum in die Lizenzabteilung ein, wo er eine Vielzahl nationaler und internationaler Lizenzierungs- und Verletzungsprojekte federführend betreute. Als Leiter des Referats "Patente und Standards" trug er zur Koordination der globalen Standardisierungsaktivitäten der Siemens AG im Hinblick auf Fragen zu gewerblichen Schutzrechten bei.

Herr Thum hielt Vorträge auf mehreren internationalen Kongressen in Europa und Asien. Derzeit bilden seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte Patenterteilungsverfahren einschließlich des Erstellens von Patentanmeldungen, insbesondere auf den Gebieten des klassischen Maschinenbaus, der Fahrzeugtechnik, der Medizintechnik, sowie der Informations- und Telekommunikationstechnik. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit bilden Patentverletzungsverfahren auf diesen technischen Gebieten.


Unser Team

Die Porträts unserer Anwälte und Experten geben Ihnen einen ersten Eindruck über deren fachliche Schwerpunkte und Erfahrungen. Für weitere Informationen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.